## RESOLUTION TO DESIGNATE ROUTE 720 HARRIS CREEK ROAD **AS A RURAL RUSTIC ROAD**

WHEREAS, Virginia Code § 33.2-332 permits the hard-surfacing of certain unpaved roads deemed to qualify for designation as a Rural Rustic Road; and

WHEREAS, any such road must be located in a low-density development area and have no more than 1,500 vehicles per day; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors of Albemarle County, Virginia ("Board") desires to consider whether the .38-mile section (the "Road") of Route 720 Harris Creek Road (from .25mile west of Route 20 to the end of state maintenance) should be designated a Rural Rustic Road: and

WHEREAS, the Board is unaware of any pending development that will significantly affect the existing traffic on this Road; and

WHEREAS, the Board believes that this Road should be so designated due to its qualifying characteristics; and

WHEREAS, this Road is in the Board's six-year plan for improvements to the secondary system of state highways.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors hereby designates the .38-mile section of Route 720 Harris Creek Road (from .25-mile west of Route 20 to the end of state maintenance), a Rural Rustic Road, and requests that the Residency Administrator for the Virginia Department of Transportation concur in this designation; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Board requests that this Road be hard-surfaced and, to the fullest extent prudent, be improved within the existing right-of-way and ditch-lines to preserve as much as possible the adjacent trees, vegetation, side slopes, and rural rustic character along the road in their current state; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a certified copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Virginia Department of Transportation Residency Administrator.

correct

copy of a Resolution	e K. Borgerson, do hereby certify that the foregoing writing on duly adopted by the Board of Supervisors of Albemark, as recorded below, at a meeting held on July 7, 2021.		Board of Supervisors of Albemarle County by a vote of
			Clerk, Board of County Supervisors
	Aye	Nay	
Mr. Gallaway			
Ms. LaPisto-Kirtley			
Ms. Mallek			
Ms. McKeel			
Ms. Palmer			
Ms Price			