

## PROCLAMATION CELEBRATING WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH

- **WHEREAS,** Women's History Month, celebrated during the month of March, originated in 1987 to recognize the heritage and achievements of women in the United States; and
- **WHEREAS,** women of every race, class, religious, and ethnic background have been fundamental to the growth and development of Albemarle County, yet their contributions have been consistently overlooked and undervalued; and
- WHEREAS, the leadership of women have been critical to the prosperity of Albemarle County, including the contributions of Sarah B. Jones, born in southern Albemarle, who became the first Black woman to pass the Virginia Medical Examining Board's licensing exam in 1893 to become a practicing physician; Mary Rawlings, who wrote multiple books about the history of Albemarle County and was one of the founders of the Albemarle County Historical Society; Agnes Rothery, whose will provided the means to found the Albemarle County Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals; Dorothy Newton Earp, who endowed Crozet with its first library in 1907; Mary Frazier Cash, a long-time president of the local League of Women Voters, who once said "Whatever I have done is the result of a life-long love affair with Albemarle County," and
- WHEREAS, there is a history of courageous female leadership on the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors, including Opal David, Ellen Nash, Patricia Cooke, Charlotte Humphris, Sally Thomas, Ann Mallek, Jane Dittmar, Diantha McKeel, Liz Palmer, Beatrice LaPisto-Kirtley, and Donna Price who all have provided exceptional guidance.
- **NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED,** that we, the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors, do hereby acknowledge the importance of celebrating Women's History Month as an opportunity for all County residents to recognize and honor the contributions of women throughout the history Albemarle County in order to encourage and empower future women leaders and pioneers.

Signed this 4th day of March 2020

Ned Gallaway, Chair
Albemarle Board of County Supervisors