

Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act

Local Workforce Development Area Re-Designation

Under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) of 2014, Local Workforce Development Areas were approved by the Governor's Office for an initial period of two years (July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2017). Prior to June 30, 2017, Local Workforce Development Area's must request re-designation through the Chief Local Elected Officials representing the jurisdictions within the region. This re-designation period will last from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019.

The Piedmont Workforce Network includes the City of Charlottesville plus 10 Counties, including Albemarle, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Nelson, Madison, Orange, and Rappahannock.



One (1) representative from each of the eleven (11) jurisdictions make up what is known as the Piedmont Workforce Network Council. Those 11 representatives include:

Locality	Council Representative
Albemarle County	The Honorable Diantha McKeel
City of Charlottesville	The Honorable Kathy Galvin
Culpeper County	The Honorable Alexa Fritz
Fauquier County	The Honorable Holder Trumbo, Jr.
Fluvanna County	The Honorable Tony O'Brien
Greene County	The Honorable Jim Frydl
Louisa County	The Honorable Stephanie Koren
Madison County	The Honorable Robert Campbell
Nelson County	The Honorable Connie Brennan
Orange County	The Honorable Lee Frame
Rappahannock County	The Honorable Ron Frazier

At the December 2016 meeting of the Council, the representatives voted to re-designate as a Local Workforce Development Area. In order to complete this requirement, each locality will need to sign the attached CLEO Agreement to send to the Governor's Office for approval.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Morgan Romeo, Assistant Director of the Piedmont Workforce Network, at (434) 979-5610 x 21 or by email at <u>mromeo@centralvirginia.org</u>.