## **RESOLUTION TO DESIGNATE A SEGMENT OF ROUTE 824,** PATTERSON MILL LANE, AS A RURAL RUSTIC ROAD

WHEREAS, Virginia Code § 33.2-332 permits the hard-surfacing of certain unpaved roads deemed to qualify for designation as a Rural Rustic Road; and

WHEREAS, any such road must be located in a low-density development area and have no more than 1,500 vehicles per day; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors of Albemarle County, Virginia desires to consider whether Route 824, Patterson Mill Lane, from Route 688, Midway Road to approximately 1.04 miles north of Midway Road, should be designated a Rural Rustic Road; and

WHEREAS, the Board is unaware of any pending development that will significantly affect the existing traffic on this road; and

WHEREAS, the Board believes that this road should be so designated due to its qualifying characteristics; and

**WHEREAS**, this road is in the Board's six-year plan for improvements to the secondary system of state highways.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors hereby designates Route 824, Patterson Mill Lane, from Route 688, Midway Road to approximately 1.04 miles north of Midway Road, a Rural Rustic Road, and requests that the Resident Engineer for the Virginia Department of Transportation concur in this designation; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Board requests that this segment of Route 824, Patterson Mill Lane, be hard-surfaced and, to the fullest extent prudent, be improved within the existing right-of-way and ditch-lines to preserve as much as possible the adjacent trees, vegetation, side slopes, and rural rustic character along the road in their current state; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a certified copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Virginia Department of Transportation Resident Engineer.

I, Claudette K. Borgerson, do hereby certify that the foregoing writing is a true and correct copy of a Resolution duly adopted by the Board of Supervisors of Albemarle County by a vote of to, as recorded below, at a meeting held on April 5, 2016.			
			Clerk, Board of County Supervisors
	Aye	Nay	
Mr. Dill			
Ms. Mallek			
Ms. McKeel			
Ms. Palmer			
Mr. Randolph			
Mr. Sheffield			