

Resolution of Appreciation for

JAMES "JIM" HINGELEY

- **WHEREAS,** Jim Hingeley opened the Office of the Public Defender for the County of Albemarle and the City of Charlottesville in 1998, with the mission of defending the accused in serious criminal cases and managing a community-oriented public defender office that provides high quality criminal defense services to indigent clients; and
- **WHEREAS,** Jim Hingeley received his A.B. from Harvard College and his J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law, and is admitted to practice law in the states of Virginia and West Virginia, all federal courts in Virginia, and the United States Supreme Court; and
- **WHEREAS,** Jim Hingeley has been a clinical supervisor of the Criminal Defense Clinic at the University of Virginia School of Law since 1999, providing first rate training for the next generation of criminal defense attorneys; and
- WHEREAS, Jim Hingeley has received several prestigious awards to include the Virginia Bar Association's Roger D. Groot Pro Bono Publico Service Award in 2014 and has served on innumerable state and local advocacy groups as a contributing member or in a leadership capacity in his ongoing mission to provide the best defense for all; and
- **WHEREAS,** Jim Hingeley, in addition to being a lawyer and public servant, has also been a certified welder; a VISTA volunteer in West Virginia; a high school social studies teacher in Pocahontos County, West Virginia; and an all-around nice guy to have in your corner.
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that, we, the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors, present to James "Jim" Hingeley on the occasion of his retirement as The Public Defender for the County of Albemarle and the City of Charlottesville, with this Resolution of Appreciation for the immeasurable and excellent public service that he has provided to this community; and
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that, this Resolution be spread upon the minutes of this meeting of the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors.

Signed this 13th day of July, 2016.

Norman G. Dill
Ann H. Mallek

Diantha H. McKeel
Liz Palmer, Chair

Rick Randolph
Brad L. Sheffield