

Board-to-Board

June, 2015

A monthly report from the Albemarle County School Board to the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors

Learning Commons-- Earlier this year, Albemarle County Public Schools became the first school division in the country to twice be honored by the National School Board Association (NSBA) as a national leader in innovative school programming. The division's emphasis on project-based learning and on developing greater creativity, critical thinking and collaboration among all students was the subject of a major magazine story and YouTube video, using Monticello High School's Learning Commons as an example of the approach across the division.

Watch NSBA's YouTube feature on MoHS' Learning Commons by visiting <u>https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilQwPzy6mos</u>, and read the American School Board Journal article at <u>http://mydigimag.rrd.com/publication/?i=257395&p=20</u>.

Redistricting Update—The advisory committee appointed by the Board to make recommendations to address the capacity issues at Albemarle High School and Greer Elementary School held its first of three community meetings on May 18th. Each of the scenarios presented at the meeting would involve moving Albemarle High School students to Monticello High School and moving Greer students to either Murray, Agnor-Hurt or Broadus Wood elementary schools. These changes also could impact anywhere from one to four middle schools, including Burley, Henley, Jouett and Sutherland. The committee will hold its next community meeting Tuesday, June 2, at Albemarle High School.

The School Board is expected to take action before the end of the calendar year after holding a public hearing. Any changes in school attendance zones will go into effect in August of 2016. Along with reviewing learning environment conditions at Albemarle and Greer, the advisory committee also is studying how northern feeder pattern enrollment projections might impact future additions at Woodbrook Elementary School and at either Western or Monticello High School.

2015 Virginia Index of Performance Awards—Three division schools were recognized by Governor McAuliffe and the state Board of Education for meeting all accountability benchmarks and making significant progress towards increased student achievement and expanded educational opportunities: Hollymead Elementary, Joseph T. Henley Middle and Virginia L. Murray Elementary.

Samuel Miller District Representative-- The Board will make an interim appointment to the Samuel Miller district seat recently resigned by Eric Strucko until a special election is held on November 3rd. Community members who are interested in being considered for the interim appointment must be qualified voters and bona fide residents of the Samuel Miller district at the time of appointment. All candidates must complete an application and submit a cover letter and resume. The application can be downloaded at http://bit.ly/sbapplication.

WAHS Principal Appointment— The Board has appointed Darah Bonham, whose career has spanned directing student activities for W.T. Woodson High School in Fairfax County, building partnerships

between two school divisions and the business community as the lead administrator for CATEC, and serving as the associate principal for Monticello High School, where he supervises the national awardwining Learning Commons, to become Western's 12th principal on July 1. A community-based review panel that included parents, students, and both administrative and classified staff unanimously recommended Bonham's appointment to the Superintendent. Community members also participated through an online survey on the qualities and attributes most desired in a principal at Western in the review and selection process which began in March.

CBIC Educator of the Year Award—Each year, the Charlottesville Business Innovation Council (CBIC) recognizes a K-12 educator who has set an example of incorporating the principles of innovation, entrepreneurship, invention, and/or technological achievement in a classroom setting. All three nominees for the award are teachers in Albemarle schools, including Anne Geraty of Meriweather Lewis Elementary School and Karen Heathcock of Broadus Wood Elementary School. Katina Dudley, director of the Health and Medical Sciences Academy at Monticello High School, was named the CBIC Educator of the Year at their awards gala last month.

Virginia Lottery Award-- Anne Straume, third grade teacher at Meriwether Lewis Elementary, is this year's central Virginia winner of the Super Teacher Award. The Virginia Lottery presents the Super Teacher Award to eight Virginia teachers each year, one for each region. Straume was nominated by a Meriwether parent who noted her creativity, passion, and commitment to education in the nomination letter, and receives a \$2,000 cash award and \$2,000 in merchandise from The Supply Room Companies.

Golden Apple Awards-- At this year's 14th annual Golden Apple celebration, 28 division teachers received awards and grants as part of the regional program sponsored by Better Living Building Supply and Better Living Furniture in Charlottesville. The Golden Apple program recognizes performance excellence and curriculum innovations by teachers in 42 county and city public and private schools.

Starting in November, teachers are eligible to be nominated by principals, colleagues, parents and/or students to receive a Golden Apple. An independent panel reviews each nomination and selects the award winners. One Golden Apple award was posthumously presented to Hollymead Elementary School teacher Robin Aldridge, who was a well-respected leader in special education throughout the school division.

Six other Albemarle County teachers also received \$1,000 grants for use in the classroom. They included Mary Lou Boyd from CATEC; Lynn Nichols from Monticello High; Jesse Mercer from Burley Middle; Lori Ann Stoddart of Cale Elementary; Gabrielle Schoppa of Burley Middle School; and Julia Trammell-McGill from Stony Point Elementary.

Barbara J. Carswell, Agnor-Hurt Beth A. Roesch, Baker-Butler Darci K. Palmer, Brownsville Lori Ann Stoddart, Cale Erika Pietrzak Pierce, Community Public Charter Sarah Scott, Greer Robin Christine Aldridge, Hollymead Andrew W. Sherogan, Meriwether Lewis Karin Anne Ryan, Albemarle Brandon Flowers, Broadus Wood Jesse Mercer, Burley Mary Lou Boyd, CATEC Brandy Alexandra Garbaccio, Crozet Diana Pace, Henley Julie Stavitski, Jouett Lynn Nichols, Monticello Hollins Mills, Murray Elementary Beth Kavounas, Red Hill Judith Meador Larrick, Stone-Robinson Bill Briesemeister, Sutherland Adam Mulcahy, Western Albemarle Shanice D. Gray, Yancey Mary Kelly, Murray High Christyne Clemson Fayard, Scottsville Julia Trammell-McGill, Stony Point Jennifer Graham, Walton Leslie Wills-Taylor, Woodbrook

School Board website: <u>http://www2.k12albemarle.org/Pages/default.aspx</u>