## **RESOLUTION**

## A RESOLUTION OF THE ALBEMARLE COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS APPROVING OF THE COUNTY'S PARTICIPATION IN THE VIRGINIA OPIOID ABATEMENT FUND AND SETTLEMENT ALLOCATION MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING ("MOU") AND DIRECTING THE COUNTY ATTORNEY TO EXECUTE THE DOCUMENTS NECESSARY TO EFFECTUATE THE COUNTY'S PARTICIPATION IN THE MOU

WHEREAS, the opioid epidemic that has cost thousands of human lives across the country also impacts the Commonwealth of Virginia and its cities and counties by adversely impacting, amongst other things, the delivery of emergency medical, law enforcement, criminal justice, mental health and substance abuse services, and other services; and

WHEREAS, the Commonwealth of Virginia and its cities and counties have been required and will continue to be required to allocate substantial taxpayer dollars, resources, staff energy and time to address the damage the opioid epidemic has caused and continues to cause the citizens of Virginia; and

**WHEREAS,** in order to advance their common interests, Virginia local governments and the Commonwealth of Virginia, through counsel, have extensively negotiated the terms of a memorandum of understanding relating to the allocation and use of litigation recoveries relating to the opioid epidemic.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors, this 17<sup>th</sup> day of November, 2021, hereby authorizes and approves of the Virginia Abatement Fund and Settlement Allocation Memorandum of Understanding ("MOU") attached hereto and incorporated by reference as Exhibit "A," and directs the County Attorney to execute the MOU.

I, Claudette K. Borgersen, do hereby certify that the foregoing writing is a true, correct copy of a resolution duly adopted by the Board of Supervisors of Albemarle County, Virginia, by a vote of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, as recorded below, at a regular meeting held on November 17, 2021.

	Aye	<u>Nay</u>
Mr. Gallaway		
Ms. LaPisto-Kirtley		
Ms. Mallek		
Ms. McKeel		
Ms. Palmer		
Ms. Price		

Clerk, Board of County Supervisors