

Proclamation Celebrating LGBTQ+ Pride Month

WHEREAS

Albemarle County's stated mission is to enhance the well-being and quality of life for all citizens through the provision of the highest level of public service consistent with the prudent use of public funds and the Board of Supervisors is committed to supporting through its actions and its partnerships the promotion of an equitable and inclusive Albemarle County that allows all members of our community to grow and thrive; and

WHEREAS,

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Pride Month (LGBTQ Pride Month) is celebrated annually in June to honor the 1969 Stonewall riots, and works to achieve equal justice and equal opportunity for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning (LGBTQ+) Americans; and

WHEREAS,

on April 11, 2020, the Virginia Values Act was signed into law, making Virginia the first state in the South to protect LGBTQ+ people from discrimination in their daily lives, including discrimination in housing, public and private employment, public accommodations, and access to credit; and

WHEREAS,

LGBTQ+ individuals continue to face national challenges to hard-won rights, with LGBTQ+ youth especially targeted by newly built barriers to their full inclusion in the spheres of healthcare and education; and

WHEREAS,

LGBTQ+ individuals have shaped, advanced, and enriched the fabric of Albemarle County and our nation by making immense contributions to all areas of life including government, business, arts and sciences, medicine, law enforcement, technology, and the military; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED, that we, the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors, continue to affirm our commitment to our stated mission to enhance the well-being and quality of life of all the members of our community and recognize with pride the rich cultural diversity and contributions of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning (LGBTQ+) residents to the vibrancy of Albemarle County.

Signed this 15th day of June 2022

Donna Price, Chair Albemarle Board of County Supervisors